hort.net Seasonal photo, (c) 2006 Christopher P. Lindsey, All Rights Reserved: do not copy
articles | gallery of plants | blog | tech blog | plant profiles | patents | mailing lists | top stories | links | shorturl service | tom clothier's archive0
Gallery of Plants
Tech Blog
Plant Profiles
Mailing Lists
    Search ALL lists
    Search help
    Subscription info
Top Stories
sHORTurl service
Tom Clothier's Archive
 Top Stories
New Trillium species discovered

Disease could hit Britain's trees hard

Ten of the best snowdrop cultivars

Plant protein database helps identify plant gene functions

Dendroclimatologists record history through trees

Potato beetle could be thwarted through gene manipulation

Hawaii expands coffee farm quarantine

Study explains flower petal loss

RSS story archive

Re: Re: email that was named "hello" - was it real?

  • Subject: Re: [iris-photos] Re: email that was named "hello" - was it real?
  • From: "Neil A Mogensen" neilm@charter.net
  • Date: Sun, 27 Feb 2005 06:47:14 -0500

Using the "Properties" the "from" line or subject line in the headings I have tried to trace back some of these messages to their origins.  The ones that get under my skin are those that supposedly originate from *me.*  For a time my address was blocked by the Wisconsin "Road Runner" ISP used by Char Holte.  I had to enlist the aid of my own ISP to get the block removed.  In the meantime I used an alternate mailbox and address.  There is a fair amount of spam circulating with my address attached as "From."  I'm powerless to stop it.
The source of these offensive materials always disappear behind a screen of silence originating somewhere in SE Asia--either in China or one of the many countries south of there.  The tools used to identify the ISP from which such messages come is hidden when it comes to SE Asia.  On those of American or European origin, it is rather easy to trace right back to the originating ISP and sometimes to the account which actually was used for posting or mailing the message.
A note to the webmaster at the ISP from which the offending material came with an attachment of the message as received, using the header in the Inbox ("Forward...", then to webmaster@....) often stops the garbage.  One's own ISP is sometimes helpful, sometimes not, as it also runs into this wall of silence.
Neil Mogensen  z 7  western NC mountains

Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
click here
Web Bug from http://us.adserver.yahoo.com/l?M=298184.6018725.7038619.3001176/D=groups/S=:HM/A=2593423/rand=544201963

Yahoo! Groups Links

Other Mailing lists | Author Index | Date Index | Subject Index | Thread Index

 © 1995-2017 Mallorn Computing, Inc.All Rights Reserved.
Our Privacy Statement