hort.net Seasonal photo, (c) 2006 Christopher P. Lindsey, All Rights Reserved: do not copy
articles | gallery of plants | blog | tech blog | plant profiles | patents | mailing lists | top stories | links | shorturl service | tom clothier's archive0
Gallery of Plants
Tech Blog
Plant Profiles
Mailing Lists
    Search ALL lists
    Search help
    Subscription info
Top Stories
sHORTurl service
Tom Clothier's Archive
 Top Stories
New Trillium species discovered

Disease could hit Britain's trees hard

Ten of the best snowdrop cultivars

Plant protein database helps identify plant gene functions

Dendroclimatologists record history through trees

Potato beetle could be thwarted through gene manipulation

Hawaii expands coffee farm quarantine

Study explains flower petal loss

RSS story archive


  • Subject: Re: OT: ''MAIL ORDERS
  • From: pbrooks@whidbey.net
  • Date: Mon, 03 Sep 2001 02:46:47 -0000

Ah, now I understand.  I hadn't ordered from Wayside because their 
prices are so high.  But sort of out of guilt that I gorge on their 
catalog, I ordered two plants from them last year.  They both came 
dead.  I planted them just to be sure, but they proved to be dead.  
Wayside refunded my payment, but I was mystified as to why such an 
apparently big nursery should risk its reputation by sending inferior 
plants.  But if they're a broker, one might well expect that plants 
making two trips instead of one might give up the ghost before it 
reaches the customer.  How do they stay in business?

Patricia Brooks
Whidbey Island, WA, zone 8-9

--- In iris-talk@y..., RYFigge@a... wrote:
> Wayside is more a broker than a big nursery =  they put your orders 
out to 
> others and that is why they come in driblets and not all at once.  
I suspect 
> that of White Flower and all those places are sort of suspect for 
anyone in 
> AIS - at least    you cann[t count on irises beingproperly 
named,etc ,  Years 
> ago I was in a big iris garden's office and saw an order from 
Wayside on the 
> desk === SO why not order from an iris co in the first  place?   
> figge nr Baltimore,USA   ryfigge@a...

------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Get your FREE credit report with a FREE CreditCheck
Monitoring Service trial


Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/ 

 © 1995-2017 Mallorn Computing, Inc.All Rights Reserved.
Our Privacy Statement
Other Mailing lists | Author Index | Date Index | Subject Index | Thread Index