hort.net Seasonal photo, (c) 2006 Christopher P. Lindsey, All Rights Reserved: do not copy
articles | gallery of plants | blog | tech blog | plant profiles | patents | mailing lists | top stories | links | shorturl service | tom clothier's archive0
Gallery of Plants
Tech Blog
Plant Profiles
Mailing Lists
    Search ALL lists
    Search help
    Subscription info
Top Stories
sHORTurl service
Tom Clothier's Archive
 Top Stories
New Trillium species discovered

Disease could hit Britain's trees hard

Ten of the best snowdrop cultivars

Plant protein database helps identify plant gene functions

Dendroclimatologists record history through trees

Potato beetle could be thwarted through gene manipulation

Hawaii expands coffee farm quarantine

Study explains flower petal loss

RSS story archive

Call for Nominations of IAS awards

  • Subject: Call for Nominations of IAS awards
  • From: Zach DuFran <zdufran@gmail.com>
  • Date: Thu, 12 Apr 2012 13:44:48 -0500


This message constitutes a request for nominations from the aroid community for the awards outlined below. Nominations should be specific about who is being nominated and why one considers such a person best qualified for the award. Reasons may range from personal observations of character of the individual, contributions the person has made to study or use of Araceae, the nature of past works, future potential or even geopolitical considerations but please be specific as to why the individual should be nominated for a specific award. Nominations may be made for one or all of the three awards. Since often qualified students are not sufficiently known to be nominated for the Birdsey Award personal nominations should be considered.  In the past we have asked students to apply for the Birdsey Award and such self-nominations are appropriate. On the other hand the selection of the Waterbury Award and the Schott Award are typically more tightly controlled so as to add to the suspense of the Awards Ceremony. All nominations for all awards are to be submitted by May 1, 2012. Nominations should be sent to Zach DuFran [zdufran@gmail.com].  Please do not send nominations through aroid-l.  The Nominating Committee is composed of IAS President Zach DuFran and three additional members chosen by the President, namely Tom Croat, Scott Hyndman, Anna Haigh, and Albert Huntington will review the nominations, select the most worthy for all three awards. Depending on the number and quality of the nominees the Awards Committee will propose the top 2 or 3 nominations to the IAS Board for the final vote. The nominee for the Birdsey Award will then be announced to person selected and to the public.  The selections for the Waterbury Award and the Schott Award will remain unannounced until a time and place for the award is chosen and until we can be certain that the awardee will be present to receive the award publicly.


Monroe Birdsey Award


This award is to be granted to students of Araceae for travel to the Annual Aroid Show and Sale in Miami or sometimes to assist in a student’s training.  Past awardees have been Monica Carlsen, Eduardo Gonçalves and Marilee.  The award is given annually at the discretion of the IAS Board.  Typically the awardee is asked to present a program about his or her research though this is not mandatory.


Bette Waterbury Award for Excellence in Aroid Horticulture


This award is granted periodically to persons who have made the greatest impact in growing, cultivation, introduction and promotion of the aroids in the horticultural sphere. Past awardees have been Josef Bogner and Lynn Hannon. These awards were presented at International meetings of the IAS, in St. Louis and Kuching respectively but the next awardee will be presented the prize at the 35th Aroid Show and Sale in Miami on September 15, 2012.


H. W. Schott Award for Excellence in Aroid Research


This award is granted periodically to an individual who has made the strongest impact on research with Araceae through publications, teaching, basic research, excellence in exploration for Araceae or through monographic or floristic studies of Araceae. Previous awardees have been Dan Nicolson and Tom Croat presented at the International Aroid Conferences in St. Louis and Kuching respectively and Derek Burch who was given the award independently in Miami. 

Zach DuFran, on behalf of the nominating committee

Aroid-L mailing list

Other Mailing lists | Author Index | Date Index | Subject Index | Thread Index

 © 1995-2017 Mallorn Computing, Inc.All Rights Reserved.
Our Privacy Statement