hort.net Seasonal photo, (c) 2006 Christopher P. Lindsey, All Rights Reserved: do not copy
articles | gallery of plants | blog | tech blog | plant profiles | patents | mailing lists | top stories | links | shorturl service | tom clothier's archive0
Gallery of Plants
Tech Blog
Plant Profiles
Mailing Lists
    Search ALL lists
    Search help
    Subscription info
Top Stories
sHORTurl service
Tom Clothier's Archive
 Top Stories
New Trillium species discovered

Disease could hit Britain's trees hard

Ten of the best snowdrop cultivars

Plant protein database helps identify plant gene functions

Dendroclimatologists record history through trees

Potato beetle could be thwarted through gene manipulation

Hawaii expands coffee farm quarantine

Study explains flower petal loss

RSS story archive

Re: [aroid-l] ebay - ebook fraud

  • Subject: Re: [aroid-l] ebay - ebook fraud
  • From: "Alan Galloway" <alan_galloway@ncsu.edu>
  • Date: Mon, 21 Jun 2004 12:58:33 -0400

Peter, Denis, Steve, and others,

After seeing Peter's original posting, I checked the sites listed and
discovered that this
person was also using 2 of my photos as well.  This person never asked for
and certainly did not credit me for my photos.

I notified the person Friday and again on Saturday to remove my pics.  He
finally emailed
me back with some rather unpleasant responses.  I'm still amazed at the
reactions of
thieves when you catch them in the act!

He has since removed my pictures from his web site, as well as terminated
the auction
of his 'ebook' which contained the pics.
He has stated that he did not sell any copies of his 'ebook', but I have no
way of verifying
that statement.

I checked his web site, as well as his ebay profile, and he seems to have
gone to rather
extreme lengths to cover up his physical location and his name.  Also on his
profile, he goes to great lengths explaining how willing he is to resolve
disputes.  All in
all, it appears to me that he has gone to great lengths to maintain
anonymity.  And his
idea of resolving disputes is pretty pathetic.

I would advise all affected to send email to this person, clearly stating
that he has
taken your images, and for him to remove them promptly.  If you plan to file
a civil
law suit, this will show the judge, that you have taken a pro-active measure
to defend
your copyrighted material.

See Peter's original email below for the URL for Ebay.com    You'll need to
through Ebay's site to find out where to direct your complaint for ebay.
They need
to hear from all those affected.

The guy's personal web site (also listed below in Peter's original message)
is actually
hosted by yahoo.com.  You'll need to notify yahoo.com that this guy is
copyright laws.  Once you have told yahoo.com, they become somewhat
for breaking the copyright law on behalf of this guy.  From what I've heard,
takes a very dim view of its cutomers breaking copyright laws.

I'm putting together some information on copyright issues and will post that
here shortly.  Hopefully this will educate some uniformed people.


----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Steve Ritchey" <sritchey@shreve.net>
To: <aroid-l@lists.ncsu.edu>
Sent: Sunday, June 20, 2004 5:46 PM
Subject: Re: [aroid-l] ebay - ebook fraud

> Hello Peter & Dennis- I've never had any contact with this vendor myself,
> but there is a lot of grumbling on the web about  his having a lot of
> unhappy customers, but still maintaining a 100% positive feedback rating
> with eBay- ?! some sorta crazy coersion thing -like no honor among
> Perhaps you're in a postion to file a formal complaint  w/eBay to keep
> people from being cheated? After reading your message,  I can't tell that
> there is any volume there,  really nutzo-crazio-this seems to be a classic
> case of the devil dancin' in empty pockets and will probably resolve
> in short order- Have a nice week-
> Steve
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Peter Boyce" <peterboyce@myjaring.net>
> To: <aroid-l@lists.ncsu.edu>
> Sent: Thursday, June 17, 2004 11:34 PM
> Subject: [aroid-l] ebay - ebook fraud
> > Dear Folks
> >
> > Denis at Silver Krome and myself have been made aware that
> >
> >
> K%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1
> >
> > http://alocasiaaddict.com/files/EEsample.pdf
> >
> > is auctioning an ebook created by stealing information and images from
> > websites of Malesiana Tropicals & Silver Krome Nursery.
> >
> > Peter (Malesiana Tropicals)
> >
> >

Other Mailing lists | Author Index | Date Index | Subject Index | Thread Index

 © 1995-2017 Mallorn Computing, Inc.All Rights Reserved.
Our Privacy Statement